top of page
  • Writer's pictureMu Mei Hsueh

Why should we be learning by doing?

Updated: Sep 24, 2022

M2 U1 Activity 1: Inspirations and Dispositions for Teaching (Video 1)




After the video, I think that instead of traditional education which is teacher-centered in that teachers give knowledge through talking, and students receive knowledge passively through listening, a creative, more student-centered approach should be adopted.


The importance of creativity in schools is the ways of learning by dynamic interaction and collaboration, which are also the methods that the Morland program uses. We can learn better through the progress of doing those activities.

And why should we be learning by doing?


I love the idea of “learning by doing” as Maria Montessori said, “I saw it, I forgot, I heard it, I remember, I did it, I understand”. David Niño, a famous leadership and management teacher at MIT, also pointed out that the characteristics of successful leadership include the ability to learn and the ability to face failure.

When the growth process lacks failure learning and teamwork experience, it loses learning opportunities. We know that people always understand better after really practicing and being involved. At the same time, we can also benefit from learning through mistakes and gain the ability to creative problem-solving during the process. Learning how to learn is to prepare for life.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page